Set Google Drive to sync without being logged in

Log into the server or desktop with the account that you want to run the service as and setup Google Drive as normally. In the config , set it so that it does not run at startup (On advanced tab) and exit the application. Download srvany.exe from the Microsoft Windows 2003 Resource Kit (http://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=17657) After installing the Resource Kit (default in C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Resource Kits\Tools), copy srvany.exe into the folder where Google Drive is installed. Run CMD as admin, before entering the below edit to use the correct login details and if you want to change the name of the service sc create GoogleDriveSync displayName= "Google Drive Service" start= auto obj= "<domain>\<username>" password= "<password>" binPath= "C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Drive\srvany.exe" It will then give a message [SC] CreateService SUCCESS Open Regedit and go to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\GoogleDriveSync"  GoogleDriveSync is the name of the service that was created Create a key under this service by right clicking on the service and doing new > key and call it Parameters within Parameters...
Read More

No menu when right clicking on start menu

If you right click on the START button but do not see a context menu. This is due to a corrupted or missing folder: c:\User\<user>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WinX The solution is just to copy this folder (and its three subfolders) from a working machine or working user account on the same machine. c:\User\<user>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WinX\Group1 c:\User\<user>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WinX\Group2 c:\User\<user>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WinX\Group3...
Read More

Recover deleted bookmarks on Chrome

Chrome’s bookmark manager doesn’t have an Undo option. If your finger slips, you could delete an entire folder full of bookmarks with no obvious way to recover them. If you’ve made a backup with the export option, you could import the backup – but the backup may already be out of date. First thing’s first: Don’t close and reopen Chrome. If Chrome is already closed, leave it closed. Chrome saves a single backup of your bookmarks file, and it overwrites the backup each time you launch Chrome. Launch Windows Explorer and plug the following location into its address bar, replacing “NAME” with the name of your Windows user account: C:\Users\NAME\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default The folder contains two bookmark files – Bookmarks and Bookmarks.bak. Bookmarks.bak is the most recent backup, taken when you last opened your browser. If you don’t see the .bak file extension and just see two files named Bookmarks, click the Organize menu and select “Folder and search options.” In the Folder Options window, click over...
Read More